“What, and leave show-business?” Of the TADJ, sociopaths and other paths

A guy works in the circus, following the elephants with a pail and shovel. He absolutely hates his job, and is always complaining about the lack of career prospects, the lousy pay, etc etc etc. One day, his brother comes to see him. He says, “Sam, I’ve got great news. I’ve got you a job in my office. You’ll wear a suit and tie, work regular hours, and start at a nice salary. How about it? Sam says, “What? And give up show business?

I have a TADJ (Totally Amazing Day Job). The thing of it is this, though; it is really not doing it for me at present, and, if I am honest with myself, hasn’t been doing it for a long time.

And I am waiting around like an idiot for someone else to solve my problems (duh). Good luck with that, Dwight.

One of the big and silent-ish pluses of the job is I have a human being as a boss. A rather good human being, tbh. Most certainly not a sociopath.

And if I freelance, I’d have myself as a boss. And I’d be beholden to other people in even worse ways.

And those golden chains – is it simply that I am exchanging a walk-on part in the war for a lead(ish) role in a cage?

Will I do anything about this?

Probably. Probably not. Watch this space, I guess.

About dwighttowers

Below the surface...
This entry was posted in a little self-knowledge. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “What, and leave show-business?” Of the TADJ, sociopaths and other paths

  1. pendantry says:

    A schrödinger’s cat of a post 🙂

Leave a comment