Education for obedience…

This from facebook.

education

About dwighttowers

Below the surface...
This entry was posted in a little self-knowledge, activism, bureaucracy, competence, framing. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Education for obedience…

  1. Arty says:

    And this is the problem I had at A Level; we were simply made to jump through hoops. We learnt very little, and it kept the exam boards happy. I was ‘daft’ enough to voice it to one teacher, who patronisingly heard me out, and then made it appear as if I had sour grapes.

    Brilliantly put.

  2. It’s a shame many people are starting to look at education as a tool for obedience and keeping young minds down. If it were not for my university degrees, I would likely still be living an impoverished area surrounded by farm land and teenage parents, just the same as my father, his father before him, and his father’s father While higher education isn’t a perfect system, it does provide huge benefits to more people than it hurts.

    • dwighttowers says:

      Hi Absent Elemental! I had a look at your site, and really like the quality of your writing (I do hope Captain ‘Merica *doesn’t* get to be in charge of anything!!).

      Glad to that you got some degrees of freedom. It’s an abiding theme of this blog – education for what, for who. I suppose for me it’s a distinction between training and education; the former is clearly needed (you’d rather have a highly trained surgeon doing a routine operation, rather than someone who could read Aristotle in the original), but the challenges we face this century are going to be about thinking outside the neat little boxes…

      More later…

      “Dwight”

      • I would make the argument that both training and education are needed, it’s just that one is more specialized than the other. Education is what lays the foundations for future instances of training to be successful. Without basic levels of education (regardless of if that education is at a primary school level or higher), it’s difficult to give any for of specialized training, as the rudimentary skill sets needed are then lacking.

        I’m glad you stopped by my site and had a look around. Captain ‘Merica and I are as different as two brothers could be, and I too hope that he doesn’t get to be in charge of anything more than he already is. He does have a daughter though, so he’s already in charge of the corruption of a child, which is scary enough by itself.

  3. pendantry says:

    little monkey see
    little monkey do
    little monkey work hard
    for Big Monkey.

Leave a Reply

