What books/films have you read/seen the most times?

What are the joys of re-reading?  In some books you see new things, things that you weren’t ready for at the outset.  I remember standing in a queue (I was either 16 or so, or possibly 19) at the library and another punter was borrowing a whole wodge of Simenon’s Maigret books. And I said to him “yeah, I like those, but after a while there’s a certain sameness.”  And the guy – kindly – said “maybe the sameness is in you?”  And he was, of course, totally right.  Even at 19  you (well, I didn’t) just have far too little life experience to make use of/appreciate what is going on.

Same with decent films – you see new stuff, especially when you are no longer hung up on finding out What Happens. You can appreciate the skill and artistry involved. I’ve seen a couple of episodes of season 4 of the Wire again. My goodness what a great show it is, greater on the re-watch.

The book I’ve probably read the most? Dr Who and the Green Death by Malcolm Hulke.  Probably read it about 5 or 6 times.  It’s a good read (but I was 8, and obsessed with Doctor Who at the time).  “Proper” book in terms of fiction? No idea. Will think on it more.  Non-fiction? I’ve read “World Orders, Old and News” by Noam Chomsky about three or four times…

Films
Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom?  Seen that about 9 times (but not since about 1995)
The Bourne Supremacy  Probably seen that about 6 or 7 times

TV
There are episodes of Sex and the City I can talk along with the dialogue (Mrs Towers is to blame)

Music
Tom Lehrer albums
Paul Kelly – couple of the late 80s albums I have listened to dozens and dozens of times.

About dwighttowers

Below the surface...
This entry was posted in activism. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What books/films have you read/seen the most times?

  1. pendantry says:

    The Door Into Summer. Robert A Heinlein. Must have read that a dozen times or more since I was a teenager. The hero is always ‘on the right side of thirty’, which was once really, REALLY old: but I’ve long since overtaken him.

    … hmm… it’s probably time I read that again…

Leave a Reply

