The urge to purge

Today I had a quiet afternoon at work, without the normal commitments. And did I spend my time writing the “endstate” document that I’ve been brewing? Or the quick and easy policy documents/pro formas that need doing?

No, I purged. I started clearing out ring binders and hang files and the sheer physicality and instant gratification of it kept me going long after I meant to stop, should have stopped.

We do what feels good. If we can do enough of what feels good in “the right direction”, I suppose we take a non-random walk in the rough direction of where we want to go…

On Monday, I’ll be glad of having done the clean-up. For now, I think “great, but that rare 90 minutes could have been better spent.”

Purger’s remorse, obviously…

About dwighttowers

Below the surface...
This entry was posted in a little self-knowledge, bureaucracy, competence, narcissism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

