Never give up, never give up, never give up

According to a guy called Terry Smith, writing in the Financial Times the other day

[George] Foreman said “I wanted to be champ of the world, but I kept hoping something would happen to Frazier. I didn’t want to fight him. The bell rung and he threw that left hook that barely missed me. It sounded like a bullet and I got nervous. I knocked him down and I said, he’s gonna kill me now. I knocked him down again and said, oh, he’s mad now. I knocked him down again. I kept knocking him down and he kept getting up. After six times I was awarded the championship of the world. he was still trying to get me when they stopped the fight.”

Yep – brutal, stupid and ultimately pointless. But enough about life, let’s think about boxing for a bit…

About dwighttowers

Below the surface...
This entry was posted in activism, competence, death, fear, Financial Times. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

