Adjective Adjective Noun

Reading through some old Prospects, I stumbled across a wonderful review of Zack Synder’s delirious film “300″ by the critic Mark Cousins (this may be him. Er no, I’m leaving that link in cos the guy sounds interesting, but I think THIS is the Mark Cousins I mean.) He uses an entirely apt phrase for this film- “gay Rumsfeldian surrealism.”

Which, after I wiped the tears of laughter and recognition from my eyes, set me to thinking of other adjective adjective noun forumlations.

There’s “Cheese-eating surrender monkeys“, Groundskeeper Willie’s take on the French, beloved by the neo-cons during their moment in the sun.

There’s Voltaire on the Holy Roman Empire – “This agglomeration which was called and which still calls itself the Holy Roman Empire was neither holy, nor Roman, nor an empire.”

And my favourite of all is John Harris on Newsnight Review, describing U2’s song Vertigo– and I think the whole How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb as … wait for it…

wait for it….

“Pompous Rock Esperanto.”

Genius. I wonder if he practiced that one in the mirror beforehand, a la Travis Bickle?

About dwighttowers

Below the surface...
This entry was posted in media and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment