“No one wants to feel like a dupe.”

An extraordinary, “must-read” article called “The Political Awakening of a Republican.”  Full of honesty, insight, courage….

My transition has significantly strained my relationships with family, friends, and former colleagues.  It is deeply upsetting to walk on thin ice where there used to be solid, common ground.  I wish they, too, would come to see a fuller spectrum of reality, but I know from experience how hard that can be when your worldview won’t let you.

No one wants to feel like a dupe.  It is embarrassing to come out in public and admit that I was so miseducated when so much reality is out there in plain sight in neighborhoods I avoided, in journals I hadn’t heard of, in books by authors I had refused to read.

About dwighttowers

Below the surface...
This entry was posted in activism, fear, framing, politics. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

