Losing our religion

This just in from facebook.

It was on the facebook wall of a chap called Troy Boyle. Though it seems to be by some cartoonist called Bill who squiggles his surname…
Hat-tip to Polyp.

UPDATE 18/2/2011: See comments below. “I read the cartoon as a comment on *organised* religion”the hierarchy that guards the dogma”, not on every religious person (some of my best friends are Christians/Jews/Muslims [well, there's one person I'm close enough to to call a friend]. If I had read it as a “let’s make fun of the believers and accuse them of being close-minded” then a) it wouldn’t have been funny and b) I wouldn’t have posted it.”

About dwighttowers

Below the surface...
This entry was posted in humour, religion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Losing our religion

  1. vera says:

    NOT fair. Now if it said “your friendly too-big-to-fail corporation” — that I would second.

    I am tired of all the asses taking cheap shots at religious people. They are, cough cough, not all the same fundy fanatics… and talking about fundy fanatics… a lot of them are atheist. Bah humbug…

  2. dwighttowers says:

    Hey Vera,
    this may sound like a cop-out/wriggling, but I read the cartoon as a comment on *organised* religion”the hierarchy that guards the dogma”, not on every religious person (some of my best friends are Christians/Jews/Muslims [well, there's one person I'm close enough to to call a friend]. If I’d read it as a “let’s make fun of the believers and accuse them of being close-minded” then a) it wouldn’t have been funny and b) I wouldn’t have posted it
    But certainly this cartoon can be read as attacking all religious folks, yes. I shall update it with the proviso – thanks for pointing this out.

    Corporations that have captured the state are also capable of ignoring their mistakes, because they don’t get no feed back. Maybe another cartoon there?
    I know not all religious folks are fundies (and even some of the fundies, as long as they aren’t tediously evangelical about it, can be ‘reasonable’ (!) human beings.)
    As for atheists being fundamentalist. Um, I don’t mind what folks believe (Bearded Sky God, Flying Spaghetti Monster) as long as they don’t insinuate/state that atheists have no morals, that they are morally superior for believing in [insert ancient found texts here] and as long as they don’t try to legalise their particular set of sexual prejudices. Now, I know for a fact that you don’t fit any of those three categories..

  3. vera says:

    Yeah, well, I know that some religious people are out to zing the atheists, but so are many fundy atheists out to zing them. Believe me, I have hung out in some very nasty atheistic spaces. I don’t care what people believe or what they refuse to believe. If they are assholes, who cares? ;)

    And thank you for hearing me… I knew you would.

Leave a Reply

